Hell No, I Won’t Go–Dating at the Office

Suzanne Lucas, Evil HR Lady, did a great post over at WiseCareers about office romances.  Since I’m on the market now and just started working at a large company, I checked it out.  You should too.   Find it here.

My personal rule is no dating anyone at work.  I have two reasons for that:

  • I don’t want to see my significant other all day, especially if we have a fight.  Bleah!
  • I cannot afford to lose a job over a guy, no matter how hot he is.
Yeah, this would be a tough one.  Okay, maybe this one time….

Yeah, this would be a tough one. Okay, maybe this one time….

Image:  imagerymajestic/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’ve only done it a couple of times, but it didn’t go well the first time and the second—well, luckily I had moved on to another job before we broke up.  Not gonna do it again.

There is another reason not mentioned in the article:  office gossip.  Who needs someone asking you about your boyfriend / girlfriend all day, or breaking both their legs to tell you she saw him with Marcy in Accounting and are you mad?

No.  Just no.  I’ll find my dates elsewhere, thank you.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

